Keep up to date with
news and rate changes

Daily Commentary

No changes, so what's the best rate?

Monday 22 May 2017  Add your comment

There continues to be very few changes to home loan rates at the moment. What's the best option currently?
Here's what Westpac said in today's economic update: "For borrowers with a deposit of 20% or more, the best value lies in the two-year rate or shorter terms. Three to five-year rates seem high relative to where we think short-term rates are going to go over that time. That said, these rates are most likely to be pressured higher by global market trends, so borrowers who prefer the security of a longer term still have a chance to lock in at historically quite low levels."

Here is the two-year rates from lowest to highest.

Previous commentary

No changes, so what's the best rate? - Monday 22 May 2017

One little change today - Wednesday 17 May 2017

OCR held again, here's why - Thursday 11 May 2017

Westpac follows ANZ - Wednesday 10 May 2017

ANZ and Kiwibank increase rates - Tuesday 9 May 2017

Even tougher lending rules on the cards - Monday 8 May 2017

One lender goes and another removes super low rates - Friday 5 May 2017

How ANZ sees the housing market and advisers - Thursday 4 May 2017

ASB lenders reduce rates - Friday 28 Apr 2017

RESIMAC cuts rates - Tuesday 18 Apr 2017

Interest-only loans under the spotlight - Wednesday 12 Apr 2017

Changing times for interest rate setting - Tuesday 11 Apr 2017

Surprise, surprise. Rates fall - Friday 7 Apr 2017

The mortgage rate creep continues - Thursday 6 Apr 2017

Wednesday 5 Apr 2017

Rate hikes continue to trickle through - Tuesday 4 Apr 2017

The Co-Op Bank now pricing loans on risk - Monday 3 Apr 2017

HSBC's turn today - Friday 31 Mar 2017

SBS raises floating rate - Wednesday 29 Mar 2017

OCR predictions; Mortgage adviser survey - Monday 27 Mar 2017

What keeps mortgage advisers awake at night? - Friday 24 Mar 2017

OCR left on hold: Here's why - Thursday 23 Mar 2017

All quiet in lead up to tomorrow's OCR announcement - Wednesday 22 Mar 2017

Three rises from SBS - Monday 20 Mar 2017

ANZ makes just one change - Friday 17 Mar 2017

Negative gearing to go...under Labour - Wednesday 15 Mar 2017

TSB raises rates - Tuesday 14 Mar 2017

Auckland house prices down - again - Monday 13 Mar 2017

What have we learnt this week? - Friday 10 Mar 2017

Bringing clarity to meth drug haze - Thursday 9 Mar 2017

More changes - Wednesday 8 Mar 2017

Kiwibank follows suit but still competitive - Tuesday 7 Mar 2017

ANZ takes floating rates higher - Monday 6 Mar 2017

OCR could go either way, RBNZ says - Thursday 2 Mar 2017

Westpac hikes floating rates - Wednesday 1 Mar 2017

BNZ increases floating rates - Tuesday 28 Feb 2017

SBS rings in rate changes - Monday 27 Feb 2017

Outlook for house prices - Monday 20 Feb 2017

Deals for investors and owner occupiers - Friday 17 Feb 2017

Regional stars' sales plummet: TSB raises rates - Wednesday 15 Feb 2017

A few little changes today: House prices fall further - Tuesday 14 Feb 2017

ANZ reverses trend - Monday 13 Feb 2017

Debt-to-income ratios on hold...for now - Friday 10 Feb 2017

Reserve Bank makes its first big OCR announcement of the year - Thursday 9 Feb 2017

Uncertainty over future RBNZ policy - Wednesday 8 Feb 2017

Quiet start to 2017 - Tuesday 7 Feb 2017

Westpac's turn - Friday 3 Feb 2017

Floating higher - Thursday 2 Feb 2017

House prices hit new records - Wednesday 1 Feb 2017

No relief in demand pressures - Wednesday 1 Feb 2017

Copyright © 2017 Tarawera Publishing Limited. All Rights Reserved.